23 Comments

UGA fan rips the heart out of a current UGA player via Facebook


This may be what a man named Bobby Nettles does on gameday

7/7/12 Update: Corn responds to Bobby Nettles and UGA….Facebook Update: Corn Wallace responds to Bobby Nettles and UGA Fans « Loser with Socks

Banter following the dismissal of Isaiah Crowell for his guns and weed arrest. Player “corn” Wallace has some serious butt-hurt going on and Bobby Nettles kicks his ass.

The Entitled Diaries; a reply … by Bobby Nettles on Saturday, June 30, 2012 at 2:48am ·

Cornelius Washington’s comments

“‘all(of you) think you know so much, but in reality you know nothing. You
don’t know what we come from, you don’t know our struggles, all you know
is the number on our jersies. 99% of you don’t give a crap about us
outside of football. When we’re doing well you’re all in our faces, when
things get tough and we need encouragement you’re nowhere to be found.
You’re fake and I despise you for it. We shall band together guys, we’ve
been working hard and we only need each other. NONE of those outsiders
will contribute to our survival as a team or as individuals, you can
guarantee that.#stickclosetoeachother ~corn washington”

———————————————

OK Mr. Corn, I’ll bite, what oppressive circumstance that none of us can
possibly understand are you referencing? Are you suggesting that none of
us come from families that struggled to make ends meet? Maybe none of
us were raised by a single parent? Perhaps some of us didn’t eat grilled
cheese sandwiches, cheap hot dogs (with no bun), ramen noodles, or
fishsticks for dinner AS A TREAT because we came from an era of economic
recession that makes today’s seem tame?

Let me tell you something you shortsighted little moron, poor when I was a kid meant
something entirely different than it does now.. and we had it good
compared to our parents and grandparents who survived on hope, sunshine,
and tap water…

When I was a kid, I didn’t have a video game system, the TV in the LIVING ROOM was 19 inches of black & white goodness and it got 4 channels; two of them without adjusting the rabbit
ears every few minutes, and one of those channels was PBS – so Sesame
Street & Mr. Rogers all freaking day. This TV was shared by 4
people, you dig? Hell, I woke up everyday wondering if Russia was going
to nuke our asses for no apparent reason or if I might spontaneously
explode if I didn’t wear a condom during sex…

I grew up listening to Georgia football on the radio – A.M. RADIO! We were lucky
if 4 games were televised a year. I never missed a second of ANY game. I
would sit in a 120 degree car until the final whistle if need be. We
had one telephone, with a cord and it was a rotary that I had to ask
permission to use. I ate in a restaurant 4 or 5 times a year and wore
clothes til they either fell off or I outgrew them. We had 2 window
units in our house and I didn’t own a car until I was a senior in high
school – guess who bought it and insured it? Crime was high and if we
wanted to go somewhere during the day, we walked – often many, many
miles. When I started looking for a job, it took 47 applications before I
finally got one – at McDonalds, making $3.35/hour.

I attended shitty Georgia Public schools that were UN-air-conditioned (you may find
it hard to believe, but it actually used to get hot back in the 70s and
80s… who knew?) I played high school football in the era where
coaches only let us drink water once per practice, before there were
limitations on when we could start practicing each year, so we practiced
all summer if we wanted to start. My helmet had straps inside, not pads
– and spearing, clothesline tackles, horse collar tackles, head slaps,
and taking cheap shots @ wide recievers & quarterbacks was not only
legal, but expected… I’ve never run a 4.4, never benched 500 lbs and
never been visited by a college coach. I paid my own way to college and
worked at Pizza Hut wearing brown polyester for 40 hours a week while
attending a full load of classes.

My family is full of nuts, my neighborhood kind of sucked, and so did my prospects. I would have
killed to have worn the red & black, just to run onto the field and
stand on the GOD DAMN SIDELINE – ONCE. When I screwed up and got a DUI,
no one came to bail me out, I went to court alone, paid my fine, did my
community service and dealt with it. It sucked, but I figured I learned
that was probably something I shouldn’t do again… So that I could
afford my DUI fine, I went without electricity and and gas for a summer,
which meant the only 2 things that worked in my house were the door
lock and the toilet… I ate white bread and canned mushrooms for many
weeks in a row because that’s what the gas station on the corner had.
When I was feeling fancy, I’d buy eggs or *gasp* Chef Boyardee
Ravioli…

So now, here we are.. one of your poor downtrodden
teammates has suffered unjustly from some heretofor unknown boogey man
that clearly has stacked the deck against him. Nevermind that 3/4s of
the state would have loaned him their car and put him up for the night
after he decided to stay in state and play for dear old UGA. Nevermind
that 65% of the state forgave him the 1st 4 or 5 times he failed a drug
test, acted like a petulant little bitch about school or classwork, came
out of every game that an opponent busted him in his little bitch assed
mouth, and generally acted like a little dreadlocked flower with all of
the toughness of a three legged kitten, possessing the smarts of a
window licking retard with water on the brain…

So now he’s taken to driving around with the next generation of UGA players with a
gun that apparently isn’t his and lo & behold, the serial number has
been removed ( a Federal Offense that carries a penalty of 2-10 year in
the joint). But it’s clearly not his fault, I mean.. how could it be,
he’s been a model citizen since he left Columbus and arrived on the big
stage. Every gesture, every nuance would lead the dispassionate
bystander to the opinion that this just COULDN’T POSSIBLY be IC1’s gun!

Whatthe fvck is the matter with you morons? I was around when Frank Ros and
the boys stole a pig before the 1980 season.. I was aware of the entire
defense getting suspended before playing Miami of Ohio in the Tangerine
Bowl ( a game I watched on that black & white TV – we lost as a
result in spite of being heavily favored), hell I even vaaaguely
remember some of the expoilts of Jake Scott… Every one of those guys
was punished in some way that made them want to die & then they
contritely returned to the team, better men for it. (Well, except for
Scott who told Dooley to fvck off and went to play in Canada before
becoming a Super Bowl MVP eventually.. but he didn’t whine like a
freaking bitch that nobody understood **sniff**, **sob**, and besides,
I’m pretty sure Jake Scott could kill any one of you just by yelling).

How did your boy IC1 fare after his 6 or 7 chances? Your little boy brains
need to catch up to your full grown man bodies before you find
yourselves hanging off the back of a trash collection truck IF YOU’RE
LUCKY! You’re blessed with health, superior athletic ability, and keen
minds.. every advantage possible. Free school, a huge support system,
the adulation of fans everywhere.. and somehow, we just don’t
understand? Understand what, that you’re a freaking moron? That some of
you waste these gifts and then whine like a bitch because instead of
giving you a 6th, 7th, 8th, or 9th chance we dare wonder what’n the hell
is the matter with you?

I suppose instead I should EXPECT YOU TO FAIL? Then I would understand, right? Are you idiots eating lead paint sandwiches between all the bong hits you’re apparently doing? Be a
freaking man and own up to your situation. It’s not everyone else’s
fault, the quicker that takes root in your addled brain the better. Take
the gifts that are given you – the OBVIOUS advantages the wheel of
fortune has allowed you to enjoy and make something out of yourself.. or
disappear into oblivion (preferably quietly, lest we think you are an
even bigger idiot than you have led us to believe already).

I hope your dad is en route to Athens to kick you in the ass (because I
doubt our candy- assed coach will), you need it … Your Pal, Bobby

About Capers Bar

I am retired Army officer. I used to fly helicopters and airplanes while I was in the Army. Nowadays, I do other things that are not so cool and sexy. I decided to write about my journey or whatever you want to call it towards running a half-marathon this fall. I have been running since 1983, I have run the Duke City full and half marathons. I don't run that fast anymore, I did win a 10K when I was 21, those days are mercifully past me. The fastest mile I have turned is a 5:05 during one of those Army physical fitness test 2 mile runs. The point I am making is that I am old, slow, and experienced runner. I named the blog after my running buddy, Bandit, an Australian Blue Heeler. He is my 3rd K-9 running buddy, the previous two dogs were black labs. I hope to write about some of my discussions that I have with Bandit in the future. I once owned, but since sold and a satirical and irreverent sports blog that was moderately successful. I was published in the left-wing national sports media by Sports Illustrated and ESPN. I am "stuck" in Alabama working for a military contractor. I am working so fricking hard to get back to Southeast New Mexico or West Texas. Fingers and toes crossed.

23 comments on “UGA fan rips the heart out of a current UGA player via Facebook

  1. ouch
    That will leave a mark..

  2. Preach on brotha…

  3. <– CLAPPING in Georgia Bobby. My wish is for one ONE of them to read this and it make a difference.

  4. Bobby got it right!

  5. And here it is, in black and white. Let me tell you something, my dad would have kicked your ass off his team the first freakin time. Wake up! You have been GIVEN an opportunity to play ball on the college level. With a complete free ride for playing abilities. I swear before god, i wish i was a coach. I mean it. My boys would hold
    themselves in the highest regard, and the ones who didn’t would have to get gone. No talking about it. You are in the public eye, in which, If I understand, you take on the responsibility to be a role model, when you sign that scholarship. I am sick and tired of all these players on all these teams, including my own, doing stupid things, and then say, i came from a poor neighborhood. Really?? So THAT excuses your actions? I don’t know any better, my dad wasn’t around. Really?? I call complete bullshit. There are hundreds of thousands of kids out there everyday, that can from the same walks of life that some of these players did, and they paid their way through college, by themselves, they didn’t have a free ride, because they didn’t play a sport. A lot of these players need to know that they are expendable. They have been GIVEN an opportunity of a lifetime, and to throw it all away from some drugs, guns, fighting, what have you, bothers me to the extreme. You were chosen because you can play elite football. I tell you one thing, i would choose the ones that can play good ball, and don’t have a juvie record. Because they respect their parents, themselves, and others bottom line. Wake up coaches, can their candy asses. And by the way, my dad was one of the BEST High School coaches in Georgia. He held his players to a higher standard, and they were better men for it. Most of his players went on to play college, and some pro. The followers are only as good as their leaders. Period. Good job Mark Richt for having some balls. The self entitlement that these college players have is ridiculous. They better realize what can be given, can also be taken away.

  6. […] F. C. King Links Posted by Jai Eugene on July 4, 2012 in SEC Football UGA fan rips the heart out of a current UGA player via Facebook Joe Paterno's role in covering up Jerry Sandusky's child molestations grows as evidence […]

  7. LOVE IT…and the thing about it is…this doesnt just apply to this kid or that team, but to this microwave generation who complain abt everything…yet have everything. God Bless ya Bobby!! i hope that it opens this kids eyes even a little (which is better than not at all)!!

  8. Well said Bobby!!!!!

  9. Pretty much says it all!!!!! MAN UP!!!!!

  10. Would honestly love to see you try to do that now. This is not a cute old world where everything is on your side. I realize you might have had it hard, but things are completely different now, grandpa. Sit on my lap, and let me tell you a story.

    We pay our way through college. It’s hard, but we do. Even with three full time jobs, we could out of school owing over 50k… maybe more.

    That house you lived in, in the shitty neighbourhood. Did your parents owe a mortgage? Good luck trying to GET a mortgage nowadays. You had a job? Good luck trying to get one of those. You can disagree with me, but a 10% unemployment rate either means 10% of the country is lazy, or jobs are hard to come by. I get the impression from your “get your dad to kick you in the ass” comments you would go with the laziness idea, but you’d be wrong.

    Let me tell you what my beef is with this old person garbage. It’s bullshit. You guys could leave highschool at 18 and get a job at a factory and work there for 30 years supporting a wife and 2 kids. Good luck doing that now. You had it hard? Yes. Absolutely. I’m not saying you haven’t. But your generation ruined it for ours by not looking outside your own limited world view. It’s not that you were hard workers. It’s that you were too stupid to know the difference.

  11. James Robinson, You’re part of the microwave generation with your hands out. His generation didn’t ruin it for yours. You are the entitlement generation who doesn’t know how to do anything on your own. You are the ones who voted in representives and an administration who will bankrupt a nation in order to give you everything you do not deserve. Your motto: I breathe, therefore I receive.

    As for Bobby, there isn’t a candy-ass coach at UGA. The IC1 thug was kicked off/out. In this day and age of coddling players and pay for play, I’d say the Coach IS a better man than his peers.

  12. I agree with most of what Bobby said.

    But let’s face it, most of the players on ANY football team just aren’t smart enough to “get it.” I mean, just plain NOT SMART ENOUGH.

    I’ve been in those freshman meetings where different speakers (AD Staffers, former players, SIDs, other guests) come in and try to teach the players about what they are going to be up against. Most don’t care and the fact still remains, most just aren’t smart enough to stay out of trouble. They can’t NOT do drugs – they can’t NOT carry a weapon – they can’t NOT break the law.

    I’ve given up thinking otherwise.

    Granted, there are good kids out there. And to them, I say, “Keep it up!” I do not say “Thank you” because you shouldn’t be thanked for not breaking the law.

  13. I agree with most of what Bobby said too, even if I am a part of the “I breathe, therefore I receive” generation. MommaGrizzley, I’m not a fan of generalized statements, and for anyone to discredit the experiences of an entire generation or group of people, well that’s not fair. Everyone’s experience is different.

    I’m not going to say I had it rough based on physical things and what I had and didn’t have. I grew up privileged in an upper-middle class black community and I’m blessed enough to have the smarts and talent and ability to go to what I believe is the best school in the state (country even) that Cornelius goes to and that the coach Bobby claims is “candy-assed” works at. I love my school and it frustrates me when I see anyone with the opportunity Crow had just throw it away. Temptation is out there, it’s hard. You can come from a certain environment and getting a full ride to UGA won’t change those tendencies, but he’ll learn one way or another.

    I’m not getting paid to go to school and I don’t have a full ride. But by the grace of God I will work hard to graduate with two degrees and have a career where I can pay back by debts and loans.

    This isn’t about blaming an administration for ‘bankrupting’ anyone. Where we are now is a reflection of many administrations and in all honesty isn’t relevant to this conversation.

    I say all this to say that there are peers of Crowell who are working hard and pressing on. And for everyone it doesn’t have to do with having a black and white television with rabbit ears. As a peer I’m upset that he would throw away an opportunity, but maybe he’ll live and learn like Bobby did.

  14. PREEEEEEEACH!!! And @James Robinson, I’m in “your” generation and I’m embarrassed to say it. You ungrateful little brat… You’re one of THOSE idiots who blames your misfortunes on everyone but yourself. Yeah, it’s tough to get a job and pay all those damned student loans, but one of us (maybe you too) chose to go to an expensive-but-worth-it school. Nobody held a gun to my head for that $70k tuition. Nobody owes you shit. Sack up and stop whining about “the generation before me ruined my liiiiiife…”

  15. @James Robinson: before you tell “grandpa” that we have it so much harder, why don’t you sit down and listen to a different story, one supported by facts and not just your entitled worldview. In 1982, there was a little thing called a recession, with unemployment as high as 25% (Illinois) and the national average at 10.8%. Think we have it so bad now? Sure, SOME people could go out and get factory jobs, others had to work a full day job, raise children, be home in time to cook supper, THEN go to night school to try to get a college degree, all while putting 2 other children through college at the same time. That was my grandmother (now 80+ years old, born in the the early 1930s). Yeah, super cute world back then, when your husband and brothers and sons get conscripted into war on the regular while you feed kids at home.

    You, sir, are ridiculous. A college degree doesn’t mean you get to sit around and talk about how you deserve a job. Go find and work for it. Work for free to get volunteer experience to add to your CV so that you’re NOT unemployed. By the way, the Georgia Department of Labor Statistics: Georgia Unemployment Rate: 8.9% and National Unemployment Rate: 8.2%, not 10% as you false reported. Apparently all your college education taught you that you don’t have to accurately portray facts and that you should start up in the world immediately after walking through the Arches with a $50k salary to pay back your ridiculous $50k student loan debt from undergrad when the state of Georgia provides you free tuition if you only maintain a 3.0 GPA, a feat that is SOOO hard, since, you know, going to class and doing homework and studying is so incredibly difficult.

    Oh, and just FYI, I’m 24, graduated from UGA on a full HOPE Scholarship (woohoo for FREE STATE EDUCATION IN GEORGIA, NOT $50K IN DEBT) after only 3 years (because I worked my ass off, not because I took X number of AP credits), attended UNC-Chapel Hill for a Master’s degree (where I took jobs for free, had internships out the wazoo = 30-40 hrs/wk of work, and was a full time student), and now I work at Harvard in my field of choice. Harvard. I won’t be crass enough to tell you my salary, or my debt amount, but I will tell you to stop whining about how you don’t have a job because, in my book, you’re just not willing to put in the good old fashioned work that goes into educating yourself with low-wage experience in order to advance your personal career.

  16. I’m not sure any of you trash talking each other’s situations in the comments section is the appropriate response to any of this. The fact is not one of you knows what the other went through to get where they are today. Is there a sense of entitlement in today’s youth? YES. Did our parents and grandparents work hard and live through tough times? YES. But you know what, there are people in today’s youth who worked hard and lived through tough times just as there were people in past generations who had a sense of entitlement. Name calling and trying to one up one another is not solving or proving anything.

    While a wake up call is necessary and even warranted for this former player, who are any of us to talk down to one another or even think that we are the ones who are in the position to help him see the light?

  17. I love it! He should never touch another field. Teams should not be desperate enough to deal with riff raffs!

  18. As a former athlete and coach, I support the coach that has rules and enforces them, regardless of the “importance” of the athlete to the team. Would you give a law breaker in society a secnd, third and on chance. We often do, only too have the person repeat his offense. Discipline and rules are the very fabric of society. Want a good society, enforce the rules with appropriate discipline.

  19. I agree with “dial it down a notch” that none of us knows anyone else’s situation and that we shouldn’t be trash talking. I also think that if nobody ever gets called out for saying and/or doing stupid stuff, we’d would be in even more trouble than we already are. People who come from sh*#, and receive opportunities like playing division 1 football only to screw it up by carrying an illegal gun in a school zone, should have that opportunity taken away. There is absolutely no reason or excuse that justifies that!!! It’s incredible that anyone would even attempt to argue on behalf of an idiot like that. It sucks that people are born into bad circumstances, but everyone is born with a conscience and it needs to be obeyed in order to get out of those bad circumstances. If you can’t make a better life for yourself with the opportunities that Georgia football affords you, then you weren’t going to make it any other way either…all you have to do is behave…you know the difference between right and wrong. Be a man.
    Mr. Robinson and anyone else that thinks the way he does, you have it all wrong. I’m not intentionally being rude if that’s how this ends up sounding, but you have opportunities too. You just can’t see the forest because of all the trees. It could be pride, it could be short sightedness, it could be that you’re just lazy…I have no idea. What I do know (as an example) is that foreigners come to our great nation all the time, legally and otherwise, not knowing a lick of English or having anyone to help them, and they turn themselves into business owners in a matter of a few months or a couple years. They don’t expect help…they know that they must provide for themselves, and they find a way to do it. Instead of expecting your diploma to get you a job, decide what you want to accomplish in life, and figure out a way to do it…be creative, and work harder than the other guy. Our country is great because poor men from the beginning and all along have busted their asses to be great individuals. Don’t be an idiot, and don’t make excuses for idiots!

  20. Bobby, you hit the nail on the head. James Robinson, you’re just another moron. I’m 25 with a college degree and have had zero 0 ZERO trouble having/finding/keeping a job. James i can’t say enough about how ignorant your comments were, about “getting” a mortgage, now is the best time to buy a house in decades! They’re practically giving them away! And your job comment, did you fail to see that he had to get a job at McDonald’s? If you really want a job bad enough today you can work at McDonald’s they’re always hiring. Problem is today’s generation feel’s too proud to work at a McDonald’s. Bobby, I can’t tell you enough how spot on you are in your entire argument.

  21. […] Facebook Update: Corn Wallace responds to Bobby Nettles and UGA Fans Posted by Jai Eugene on July 7, 2012 in SEC Football UGA fan rips the heart out of a current UGA player via Facebook « Loser with Socks […]

Leave a Reply

