Leave a comment

Dooley “passes” on another in-state QB


 

The SEC is a great conference, and finishing 8th or 12th in the league is nothing to sneeze at.  Dooley has done a spectacular job in every facet of coaching, most  particularly at not recruiting in-state players that Dooley recognizes as  marginal but other SEC schools covet.

QB Max Staver is  a prime example of the kind of player that Dooley does not want feeding  the orange ceramic dog.  Staver is probably a dud that will “trojan horse” the Gator program. Kudos dor Dooley for sending that torpedo to Gainesville.  I really wish that Staver chooses Alabama.

Brentwood (Tenn.) QB Max Staver picks Florida over Alabama and Auburn – Orlando Sentinel.
“At UF, they tell me that I’m a good quarterback, but they are going to be there to make me better. When I go to college, I want to keep improving on a daily basis and at UF I think I will do that.”….He realizes there is a huge SEC rivalry between UF and Tennessee, but that doesn’t concern the Pennsylvania native, who grew up a Penn State fan. Penn State was not one of the schools courting him, nor was Tennessee, but he had plenty of colleges vying for his services.

I’m happy to see the state producing more d1 talent and happy for the kids.  Rest assured Vol fans Dooley has a plan folks. It is all beginning to makes sense to me now. AD Dave Hart is keeping the program stable and letting Dooley grow into the job. I think of it as ojt (on job training). Let’s just bite the bullet for a while and not look for instant gratification. this is just the low (not the lowest) point in a cycle caused by the wrong doing of previous coaches, boosters and administrators (Mike Hamilton).

About Capers Bar

I am retired Army officer. I used to fly helicopters and airplanes while I was in the Army. Nowadays, I do other things that are not so cool and sexy. I decided to write about my journey or whatever you want to call it towards running a half-marathon this fall. I have been running since 1983, I have run the Duke City full and half marathons. I don't run that fast anymore, I did win a 10K when I was 21, those days are mercifully past me. The fastest mile I have turned is a 5:05 during one of those Army physical fitness test 2 mile runs. The point I am making is that I am old, slow, and experienced runner. I named the blog after my running buddy, Bandit, an Australian Blue Heeler. He is my 3rd K-9 running buddy, the previous two dogs were black labs. I hope to write about some of my discussions that I have with Bandit in the future. I once owned, but since sold and a satirical and irreverent sports blog that was moderately successful. I was published in the left-wing national sports media by Sports Illustrated and ESPN. I am "stuck" in Alabama working for a military contractor. I am working so fricking hard to get back to Southeast New Mexico or West Texas. Fingers and toes crossed.

Leave a Reply

