Leave a comment

An Executive Summary: The South Carolina Stadium


In honor of South Carolina’s historic 11 win season and subsequent ring ceremony for said wins; I offer the following passage that discusses the glory of South Carolina football and the awesome tradition that accompanies their concrete stadium.  If anyone has a photo of the USC 1969 ACC championship trophy ( the only championship trophy the school can claim) please email to loserwithsocks@gmail.com.

Via email:

South Carolina Gamecocks athletic logo

South Carolina Gamecocks athletic logo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“I move past the chain linked fence in what seems like an endless sea of concrete…heart racing, today is the day we have all been waiting for, a litmus test to our very existence. I catch my first glance of her in the distance, Williams-Bryce. Shining like a beacon of light in the foreground. A Mecca of sorts for College Football enthusiasts everywhere. A stadium so remarkable that it should have won a g-damn Oscar for its involvement in “The Program.”

I enter the stadium and get my first glance at the team warming up. Maroon on black..Under Armour…perfection. Its just the kicking teams but the punts are long and the field goals pure. I really feel bad for the visiting team today.

I get my nachos and diet coke and take my seat. On the load speaker they are making an announcement commending our Athletic Programs for all finishing above .500. I gush with embarrassment, they say it is lonely at the top, but you couldn’t convince me at this moment.

And here it is, the first playing of Sandstorm for the day. The crowd is getting hyped. As the rhythmic beats flow through my me, filling up every cell in my body. I wonder quietly what College Football tradition can top this, I think maybe VT’s Enter Sandman. I quickly disregard the notion, this is the pinnacle.

I start to see the smoke fly up from the tunnel. I hear it on the loud speakers, 2001, a Space Odyssey! Probably my favorite movie. I laugh to myself as I have answered my previous question about the greatest College Tradition. This definitely tops Sandstorm.

Pride swells in my body as the team takes the field. I look around the stadium in pure amazement and then I see it. I cant look away. I mean, how could you. It is written so bold and bright! A single tear rolls down my cheek as I read it aloud in my head. South Carolina Gamecocks, 1969 ACC Champions!”
Chris Low’s Lost Notes: The Spurrier Interview «

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Capers Bar

I am retired Army officer. I used to fly helicopters and airplanes while I was in the Army. Nowadays, I do other things that are not so cool and sexy. I decided to write about my journey or whatever you want to call it towards running a half-marathon this fall. I have been running since 1983, I have run the Duke City full and half marathons. I don't run that fast anymore, I did win a 10K when I was 21, those days are mercifully past me. The fastest mile I have turned is a 5:05 during one of those Army physical fitness test 2 mile runs. The point I am making is that I am old, slow, and experienced runner. I named the blog after my running buddy, Bandit, an Australian Blue Heeler. He is my 3rd K-9 running buddy, the previous two dogs were black labs. I hope to write about some of my discussions that I have with Bandit in the future. I once owned, but since sold and a satirical and irreverent sports blog that was moderately successful. I was published in the left-wing national sports media by Sports Illustrated and ESPN. I am "stuck" in Alabama working for a military contractor. I am working so fricking hard to get back to Southeast New Mexico or West Texas. Fingers and toes crossed.

Leave a Reply

