Leave a comment

Dooley’s hot seat



Does talent really translate into wins? I am not sure that the coaching talent is up to SEC standards. Dooley is building a juggernaut in Knoxville. A juggernaut that could dominate the Big 12….Dooley needs to not lose to Kentucky and Vandy and THEN win some SEC games. At this point I don’t really give a shit who he beats, whether it be UF, UGA SCAR or MSU. Just win some games.
Copy/Paste from ESPN CFB Rumors
UPDATE: Tennessee head coach Derek Dooley understands this season will prove to be a fulcrum point in his coaching career. He can continue to turn Tennessee around and remain the Volunteers’ head coach for the foreseeable future. Or, Tennessee can continue to struggle, and the program will likely be looking for a new head coach in 2013.

It appears the stars have aligned in favor of Dooley staying according to ESPN’s Ryan McGee (see: below).

It’s time to put up or shut up on Rocky Top. Tennessee fans are already clamoring to run head coach Derek Dooley out of town if another losing season ensues in 2012. Dooley knows it, but the coach feel he’s finally turned the corner.

“For the first time, I think we’ve got enough quality football players, enough experience, enough depth, to go compete,” Dooley told Pat Forde of Yahoo! Sports.

“I honestly didn’t think that way the last two seasons. It doesn’t mean we’ve arrived, or we’re as good as everyone in the league. But we?ve given ourselves an opportunity to compete.”

Patience has already run thin unfortunately during Dooley’s regime, although the blame may be unfairly placed on Tennessee’s head coach.

“In a patient and rational world, Dooley would get a full four years to prove whether he s the right man to return Tennessee to prominence,” Forde added. “After the spin cycle of Phillip Fulmer to Lane Kiffin to Dooley — plus the turnover in athletic and academic administration — the smart thing would be to let the man establish some continuity. Another coaching change would deepen the sense of instability at a once-proud program.”

– Brent Sobleski

Ryan McGee

Tennessee is a promising rebuilding job

“An SEC schedule is never easy, but even-numbered years are typically much kinder to the Vols. They get Florida and Alabama at home, trade LSU and Arkansas for Mississippi State and Missouri, and their four non-conference games are North Carolina State (in Atlanta), Georgia State, Akron and Troy. And the Fulmer/Kiffin-tied upperclassman that never saw eye-to-eye with Dooley and “his players” are also largely gone. Tennessee returns the third-most starters in the nation, according to Phil Steele, including a quarterback with huge upside in Tyler Bray. If all of the above still add up to a fourth losing season, Dooley can start packing. Patience in Knoxville isn’t what it is in upstate New York. But chances are good that he won’t have to worry about that.”

About Capers Bar

I am retired Army officer. I used to fly helicopters and airplanes while I was in the Army. Nowadays, I do other things that are not so cool and sexy. I decided to write about my journey or whatever you want to call it towards running a half-marathon this fall. I have been running since 1983, I have run the Duke City full and half marathons. I don't run that fast anymore, I did win a 10K when I was 21, those days are mercifully past me. The fastest mile I have turned is a 5:05 during one of those Army physical fitness test 2 mile runs. The point I am making is that I am old, slow, and experienced runner. I named the blog after my running buddy, Bandit, an Australian Blue Heeler. He is my 3rd K-9 running buddy, the previous two dogs were black labs. I hope to write about some of my discussions that I have with Bandit in the future. I once owned, but since sold and a satirical and irreverent sports blog that was moderately successful. I was published in the left-wing national sports media by Sports Illustrated and ESPN. I am "stuck" in Alabama working for a military contractor. I am working so fricking hard to get back to Southeast New Mexico or West Texas. Fingers and toes crossed.

Leave a Reply

