4 Comments

Recruiting: Dooley and Fulmer


Finishing #7 in recruiting in the SEC ain’t going to get it done. Dooley, God bless you, I really don’t think you got “it”. I noticed that Tennessee is going to look a lot like a Big 12 team next year on the offensive side of the ball. Lots of big athletic wide receivers with Tyler Bray. No running game of consequence and a defense that will look like Tarzan but probably play like Jane again. Then Dooley wants to blame his recruiting fuckups on messageboards. Hilarious. Just win fucker and stop trying to be glib, unless you spanking Clay Travis’s ass in a public forum. Then get as snarky as you want to be Dooley.

So back to recruiting.

Do you really believe that Fulmer would be a day late and dollar short on offering the lifetime Vols fan a scholarship? I don’t think he would. Vols’ Derek Dooley gives Vonn Bell a call, offer | timesfreepress.com

I found this snippet over at Outermonvolia: Tennessee went to five SEC championship games under Fulmer and we won/shared two conference championships under Majors during the era when we recruited in the top quarter of the league. No team has won the SEC in the division era unless they were one of the top three or so teams in recruited talent.

About Capers Bar

I am retired Army officer. I used to fly helicopters and airplanes while I was in the Army. Nowadays, I do other things that are not so cool and sexy. I decided to write about my journey or whatever you want to call it towards running a half-marathon this fall. I have been running since 1983, I have run the Duke City full and half marathons. I don't run that fast anymore, I did win a 10K when I was 21, those days are mercifully past me. The fastest mile I have turned is a 5:05 during one of those Army physical fitness test 2 mile runs. The point I am making is that I am old, slow, and experienced runner. I named the blog after my running buddy, Bandit, an Australian Blue Heeler. He is my 3rd K-9 running buddy, the previous two dogs were black labs. I hope to write about some of my discussions that I have with Bandit in the future. I once owned, but since sold and a satirical and irreverent sports blog that was moderately successful. I was published in the left-wing national sports media by Sports Illustrated and ESPN. I am "stuck" in Alabama working for a military contractor. I am working so fricking hard to get back to Southeast New Mexico or West Texas. Fingers and toes crossed.

4 comments on “Recruiting: Dooley and Fulmer

  1. you are the epitome of ignorance. such a sad, uninformed article.

  2. 1/3 of Fulmer’s recruits ended up in jail. The other 2/3 had to be attributed to John Chavis and David Cutcliff. (see Fulmer’s record minus Cutcliff).

  3. Really? Not sure how I missed on this. I had numbers and shit. You must be a dooley fag.

  4. UT is at a disadvantage. the state of tennessee produces very few SEC quality recruits. UT’s old recruiting grounds are not as productive(for UT) as they used to be. the state of georgia-there are about 50 schools recruiting there now, the big 10, ACC, SEC, etc. the Carolinas- Clemson and SC have become good, they are now getting the best from there.

    FL and LA — have the most good players. LSU usually gets its pick of instate there. as for florida, see above descp. of georgia.

    alabama has saban, auburn usually does good in AL, GA, and FL simply because of their location.

    aTm- state of texas. many a&m fans there.
    IMHO dooley did pretty good. with what he had to work with.sucess builds upon itself. i am not a UT fan, but i think he is a good man. i hope he does well. he seems to have more class than many of the other SEC coaches.

Leave a Reply

