Leave a comment

Dooley talks Recruiting


“Recruiting in this Conference is running a marathon. With the marathon, you don’t swing for the fences on your first try. It’s a race you’ve got to learn. It takes time to master the feeling of a marathon.”  Derek Dooley Feb 1 2012, Nashville NSD Celebration.

Dooley closed this recruiting class like he makes game time second half adjustments: he finishes STRONG.  Right Santos and Otha???

He is one smart man! I forget about how much I respect his honesty. Get some great coaches around him, and some talent on the field. This guy is going to be successful.  Here is a heartfelt message to this nationally ranked recruiting class that kinda fills our needs:

Welcome to Tennessee Gentlemen. Home of a rich tradition, an unbelievable fan base and a great university. My hope for you is that you have a great career. And when you leave our beloved Tennessee we all hope you can look back fondly on your days here. Now that you have become VFL my promise is to always support and be positive, even in the darkest days. God Bless and God speed and GO VOLS. To those that chose to spurn my beloved Vols, I wish you well but let it be known you are now and always will be the enemy. You had a golden opportunity and chose not to take it. So if you ever are fortunate enough to face the Vols, that target on your back, you put it there yourself. We do not forgive or forget anyone who turns their back on us. So remember an old saying when your laying on your back atop the grass of Shields-Watkins,looking up at 100,000 ( You made your bed now lie in it).
The Tony Basilio Show :: Tony’s Talking Points

About Capers Bar

I am retired Army officer. I used to fly helicopters and airplanes while I was in the Army. Nowadays, I do other things that are not so cool and sexy. I decided to write about my journey or whatever you want to call it towards running a half-marathon this fall. I have been running since 1983, I have run the Duke City full and half marathons. I don't run that fast anymore, I did win a 10K when I was 21, those days are mercifully past me. The fastest mile I have turned is a 5:05 during one of those Army physical fitness test 2 mile runs. The point I am making is that I am old, slow, and experienced runner. I named the blog after my running buddy, Bandit, an Australian Blue Heeler. He is my 3rd K-9 running buddy, the previous two dogs were black labs. I hope to write about some of my discussions that I have with Bandit in the future. I once owned, but since sold and a satirical and irreverent sports blog that was moderately successful. I was published in the left-wing national sports media by Sports Illustrated and ESPN. I am "stuck" in Alabama working for a military contractor. I am working so fricking hard to get back to Southeast New Mexico or West Texas. Fingers and toes crossed.

Leave a Reply

