3 Comments

Recruiting: Santos to Texas?


This has the potential to be a real recruiting nightmare for Tennessee. I never thought that even Dooley could mess this up this kid’s recruitment. Has been a Tennessee lock for months. Now Texas has come calling.  The most telling quote from the ESPN article below: “Tennessee is hoping he does not do this visit, but we are going to take it,” Albert Santos said.

Tennessee linebacker commit Dalton Santos (Van, Texas/Van) has received a scholarship offer from Texas and plans to visit Austin next weekend.

Santos’ father, Albert, confirmed to HornsNation that the Under Armour All-American got his offer from Texas offensive line coach Stacy Searels on Saturday night, and Santos is very interested in what the Longhorns have to offer.

“Obviously there is a great interest there from him,” Albert Santos said. “We wouldn’t do [the visit] if he was not interested, I can assure you of that.”

Santos will also receive an in-home visit from Searels, coach Mack Brown and defensive coordinator Manny Diaz when they stop by Van on Wednesday.

“After Wednesday and spending the weekend there, I’m sure he’ll know exactly what he wants to do,” Albert Santos said.

Santos is still verbally committed to Tennessee, but the Volunteers recently lost defensive coordinator Justin Wilcox and linebackers coach Peter Sirmon to Washington. Albert Santos said the family does like new coordinator Sal Sunseri, but they still want to explore their options.

Sunseri did call Santos late Sunday afternoon to talk him into canceling the visit to Texas, but that won’t change his plans.

“Tennessee is hoping he does not do this visit, but we are going to take it,” Santos said.

Santos, a four-star prospect and the top-ranked inside linebacker, was previously committed to Oklahoma State before picking the Vols.

Santos has told ATM, Arkansas and Bama “NO”; then Wilcox and Sirmon left for Washington and Santos was ‘lost’ until Sunseri was hired. I don’t know if we survive Texas’ overtures. If Santos’ goes to Texas, prepare for Vols fans to go “full red” on the internet.

Santos seems like a natural leader, a run stopper with a bad on-field attitude.  If the picture below is any gauge of far gone Santos is gone, Dooley better get busy with plan b.

 

image

About Capers Bar

I am retired Army officer. I used to fly helicopters and airplanes while I was in the Army. Nowadays, I do other things that are not so cool and sexy. I decided to write about my journey or whatever you want to call it towards running a half-marathon this fall. I have been running since 1983, I have run the Duke City full and half marathons. I don't run that fast anymore, I did win a 10K when I was 21, those days are mercifully past me. The fastest mile I have turned is a 5:05 during one of those Army physical fitness test 2 mile runs. The point I am making is that I am old, slow, and experienced runner. I named the blog after my running buddy, Bandit, an Australian Blue Heeler. He is my 3rd K-9 running buddy, the previous two dogs were black labs. I hope to write about some of my discussions that I have with Bandit in the future. I once owned, but since sold and a satirical and irreverent sports blog that was moderately successful. I was published in the left-wing national sports media by Sports Illustrated and ESPN. I am "stuck" in Alabama working for a military contractor. I am working so fricking hard to get back to Southeast New Mexico or West Texas. Fingers and toes crossed.

3 comments on “Recruiting: Santos to Texas?

  1. if santos want to leave let him,get players that want to be a vol,instead of all these players that keep flip floping around.

  2. I don’t know what Texas has that TN doesn’t. We got just as many mexicans, better weather, hotter chicks, and both programs are mediocre right now. Remember the Alamo!!!!!!!!!

  3. […] – Tehmeena Afzal Is A Giants Fan (PICS)(Funtasticus) – Kate Upton looks good painted (PICS)(LosersWithSocks) – Recruiting: Santos to Texas?(TheCrimsonCrow) – Something About These Pics Is A Bit Awesome […]

Leave a Reply

