4 Comments

Bowl Games: An Epidemic of Selfish Coaches


Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
James Franklin, Les Miles and Nick Saban should be ashamed. They win ballgames in their respective programs to gain the favor of the drive-by media and fans, but their selfishness comes at the cost of other coaches…like Derek Dooley.

We are facing a bowl-happy epidemic of selfish coaches putting their own reputation before their program’s success. A good example of the epidemic is found only 100 miles away in Nashville Tennessee. Where Coach James Franklin awaits an invitation to an obscure bowl game in a cold weather city. What self respecting SEC football player really wants bowl swag from the Liberty Bowl?

Confronting this epidemic of selfish coaches is Derek Dooley. Dooley over his career and throughout this past season, has shown the college football world that the key to program building is simple. That by losing key ballgames is titillating to high profile recruits.

Let me see a show of hands that saw the Vols on ESPN. Who can forget Tennessee making the Sports Center number 1 and 2 plays of the day vs Arkansas? Don’t think for a minute that Dooley isn’t chatting that up with some 3 star player down in south Georgia or a 2 star in Kentucky or an unranked player from Vermont. Dooley is data mining the shit out of high school prospects. Good recruits like Percy Harvin just don’t grow on trees.
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

As I have said over and over on this blog: Dooley’s long term strategy of “calculated losing” in order to hit “rock bottom” will eventually pay dividends way on down the road. Some football experts that truly understand how to build a program from the bottom up say that Dooley will need 4-5 years to be truly successful. Folks, we are finishing year 2.

Despite the obvious damage of keeping these players on the practice field during bowl game preparation will cause, coaches around the country continue to play in bowls that would be considered to be a “step down” for a blue blood program such as Tennessee.

Dooley made the choice to not to play in a bowl game so that he can get a “leg up” on recruiting over other programs like Vandy. You see, it is necessary to lose a battle (or two) in order to win the war. Do you really think that James Franklin will continue his recruiting domination? I don’t. The distracted Franklin now must divide his time between recruiting and bowl prep. While the intensely focused Dooley is hot on the recruiting trail without the distraction of a bowl game.

Tennessee may appear to be wounded, but we’ll be back. You watch. Can Tennessee climb out of the SEC East cellar next season? Yes they can and I know they can. go ahead and keep laughing cause sooner or later the laughing will stop. I think wearing a pair of orange slacks is symbolic and not silly. I’ll wear mine and there’s nobody that can deter me away from wearing it. one more thing…

Ignorant Vol fans have already begun to ridicule for him for his decision to lose these games and gracefully sidestep playing in a bowl game, great men often are often misunderstood, but true students of the game recognize the service he has given to the school and his team. Like Coach said in his last presser, “Neyland is but a canvas to our imagination.” Hell yes, VFL.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Capers Bar

I am retired Army officer. I used to fly helicopters and airplanes while I was in the Army. Nowadays, I do other things that are not so cool and sexy. I decided to write about my journey or whatever you want to call it towards running a half-marathon this fall. I have been running since 1983, I have run the Duke City full and half marathons. I don't run that fast anymore, I did win a 10K when I was 21, those days are mercifully past me. The fastest mile I have turned is a 5:05 during one of those Army physical fitness test 2 mile runs. The point I am making is that I am old, slow, and experienced runner. I named the blog after my running buddy, Bandit, an Australian Blue Heeler. He is my 3rd K-9 running buddy, the previous two dogs were black labs. I hope to write about some of my discussions that I have with Bandit in the future. I once owned, but since sold and a satirical and irreverent sports blog that was moderately successful. I was published in the left-wing national sports media by Sports Illustrated and ESPN. I am "stuck" in Alabama working for a military contractor. I am working so fricking hard to get back to Southeast New Mexico or West Texas. Fingers and toes crossed.

4 comments on “Bowl Games: An Epidemic of Selfish Coaches

  1. […] An Epidemic of Selfish Coaches (Losers With Socks) […]

  2. At first, I thought this was going to be an article about Will Muschamp…Duh! LOL We are rsing to the bottom right there beside you, Vols.

  3. Tennessee has a football program? Who knew? Roll Tide!

Leave a Reply

