Leave a comment

Open Letter to Da’Rick Rogers


Dearest Da’Rick,

I saw your personal foul penalty during the MTSU game post-coitus after your long touchdown reception. All I could do was just shake my head at your waste of emotions as that DB pitched a tent in your mind. Here are some things you may wish to incorporate into your yoga regimen:

Adapt­abil­ity and Flow are two of the most impor­tant psy­cho­log­i­cal attrib­utes of a Tennessee Wide Receiver. To be truly adapt­able we need to have no preferences. And how do we have no pref­er­ences? Accept every­thing that comes your way.

If some­one is ver­bally assail­ing you, stay in the moment and don’t pre­fer to be anywhere else. Don’t take any­thing he says personally. If he wishes to discuss your fetish for doughy white girls, don’t be for or against it. Go with it, flow with it and do what you need to do to be safe. If Coach decides to kick a field goal on 3rd down you relax, go with it. On your next pass reception, move in an appro­pri­ate way where you can gain maximum yards from a posi­tion of power to get Palardy in a position to score, for the kicking game is now our offense.

If Matt Simms shoots in the ground in front of you stay calm, accept it and counter it with equa­nim­ity. If the ball goes goes over your head and into the stands embrace it, go with it not just with your body but in your mind as well. Allow your mind to be like a mir­ror reflect­ing every­thing, yet untouched by anything.

For the Tennessee Wide Receiver, the key to adapt­abil­ity is hav­ing no pref­er­ences. Accept every­thing and sur­vive anything, and play for the field goal.

Da’Rick. Arkansas is terrible. We should hang 40 points on them by the half and I don’t think they’ll ever cross the fifty. Arkansas will make the vegas line makers look like idiots this weekend.

You must swear your allegiance to the orange and white; And lay down your best effort to honor this team. The bell always answered you fight through the pain & lift up your brother to honor this game. You train to remember Although you may bleed, We live by the code of the orange and white.

All praise Dooley.

Jai

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Capers Bar

I am retired Army officer. I used to fly helicopters and airplanes while I was in the Army. Nowadays, I do other things that are not so cool and sexy. I decided to write about my journey or whatever you want to call it towards running a half-marathon this fall. I have been running since 1983, I have run the Duke City full and half marathons. I don't run that fast anymore, I did win a 10K when I was 21, those days are mercifully past me. The fastest mile I have turned is a 5:05 during one of those Army physical fitness test 2 mile runs. The point I am making is that I am old, slow, and experienced runner. I named the blog after my running buddy, Bandit, an Australian Blue Heeler. He is my 3rd K-9 running buddy, the previous two dogs were black labs. I hope to write about some of my discussions that I have with Bandit in the future. I once owned, but since sold and a satirical and irreverent sports blog that was moderately successful. I was published in the left-wing national sports media by Sports Illustrated and ESPN. I am "stuck" in Alabama working for a military contractor. I am working so fricking hard to get back to Southeast New Mexico or West Texas. Fingers and toes crossed.

Leave a Reply

