1 Comment

Dooley to step “it” up in the red zone


After being dealt a humiliating loss at the hands of Alabama the week before, Coach Derek Dooley was able to cash-in his chips for the 9th moral victory of his SEC coaching career against South Carolina and the Old Ball Sack Coach.  Dooley doesn’t appear to be deterred in his pursuit of a “calculated losses” strategy for the Tennessee Football program’s mid and long term future.  A strategy of losing games to highly ranked SEC opponents in order to make ESPN highlights and get free recruiting publicity.  A daring strategy that says to the 5 star recruit:  “Hey we really suck; so come to Knoxville and plan on playing ball ASAP.”

As this week has progressed, Head Coach Derek Dooley has proved his true worth to the Big Orange Nation by ignoring repeated calls from the left wing liberal Chattanooga and Knoxville sports media and traitorous fans (Clay Travis) to remove starting quarterback true frosh Justin Worley and replace him with the veritable old man Matt Simms.

There were many that had questioned Worley’s arm strength and ball release. Worley silenced all of his critics early in the South Carolina game with several strong lasers over the heads of receivers showing off his remarkable arm strength. After a few untimely interceptions throughout the game, Worley was relieved by Matt Simms. Did you see how Simms lit up the potent Gamecock defense for 46 yards in relief of Worley? More importantly, the most telling statistic was that Simms tossed no interceptions against that vaunted Carolina defense mainly by throwing several balls that bounced in front of receivers. Bouncing the ball off the ground prevented costly turnovers and preserving momentum keeping the Vols in the game until time expired.

As good as Tennessee team looked at all facets of the game against the South Carolina last week, when we won 3 quarters of the game, I really expect that we’ll see Dooley air it out versus MTSU a bit more. We’ve already played the best offense in the country and the best defense in the SEC, so I don’t see how MTSU and subsequent SEC foes will not be able to contain this offense when Dooley really removes the shackles.

And I heard from my uncle who is a prominent Tennessee booster that Dooley is going to open up the offense more this week, though he still plans on remaining conservative and play for field goals instead of taking unnecessary chances at scoring touchdowns thus avoiding momentum changing turnovers and miscues in the red zone.

We have to give support to Dooley and back him up. After all, he has at least 2 more years remaining on his contract, so in essence he is all we got. Keep in mind that the way that the game is played and coached has changed. We are putting a young team on the field and getting good recruits. Tennessee fans need to keep in mind that changing quarterbacks at Tennessee could be favorably compared to changing cars. Every two or three games Vol fans want to trade. Well I think Worley is a keeper (and Dooley seems to think like me). This Vol Team just like an old muscle car, a small tune-up can win the race.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Capers Bar

I am retired Army officer. I used to fly helicopters and airplanes while I was in the Army. Nowadays, I do other things that are not so cool and sexy. I decided to write about my journey or whatever you want to call it towards running a half-marathon this fall. I have been running since 1983, I have run the Duke City full and half marathons. I don't run that fast anymore, I did win a 10K when I was 21, those days are mercifully past me. The fastest mile I have turned is a 5:05 during one of those Army physical fitness test 2 mile runs. The point I am making is that I am old, slow, and experienced runner. I named the blog after my running buddy, Bandit, an Australian Blue Heeler. He is my 3rd K-9 running buddy, the previous two dogs were black labs. I hope to write about some of my discussions that I have with Bandit in the future. I once owned, but since sold and a satirical and irreverent sports blog that was moderately successful. I was published in the left-wing national sports media by Sports Illustrated and ESPN. I am "stuck" in Alabama working for a military contractor. I am working so fricking hard to get back to Southeast New Mexico or West Texas. Fingers and toes crossed.

One comment on “Dooley to step “it” up in the red zone

  1. […] gets a mouthful of Honey Badger assWatch "Brawl on the Quad before the Bama/LSU game" on YouTubeDooley to step "it" up in the red zoneThe Story of LSU and Corndogs […]

Leave a Reply

