10 Comments

I thought that Alabama had 13 National Championships?


I am confused. The screencap below from the 1983 Alabama media guide clearly depicts six (6) National Championships for the Capstone, not 11 or 12 or whatever the hell they are claiming these days. Are they using Bammeroid math again? The same math that secured the services of Albert Means?

Here is the truth: The Great Crimson Lie (Repost) « Loser with Socks
3 Reasons Why Bama Sucks « Loser with Socks

About Capers Bar

I am retired Army officer. I used to fly helicopters and airplanes while I was in the Army. Nowadays, I do other things that are not so cool and sexy. I decided to write about my journey or whatever you want to call it towards running a half-marathon this fall. I have been running since 1983, I have run the Duke City full and half marathons. I don't run that fast anymore, I did win a 10K when I was 21, those days are mercifully past me. The fastest mile I have turned is a 5:05 during one of those Army physical fitness test 2 mile runs. The point I am making is that I am old, slow, and experienced runner. I named the blog after my running buddy, Bandit, an Australian Blue Heeler. He is my 3rd K-9 running buddy, the previous two dogs were black labs. I hope to write about some of my discussions that I have with Bandit in the future. I once owned, but since sold and a satirical and irreverent sports blog that was moderately successful. I was published in the left-wing national sports media by Sports Illustrated and ESPN. I am "stuck" in Alabama working for a military contractor. I am working so fricking hard to get back to Southeast New Mexico or West Texas. Fingers and toes crossed.

10 comments on “I thought that Alabama had 13 National Championships?

  1. It’s Bama what do you expect?
    Truth?

  2. Alabama’s SID from 1983 to ’87 and later associate director of the Tide Pride donor program.

    “I want to say the right thing here. I made the change because Coach Bryant had these 25 years and six national championships and they were emphasized so much. It was on all the stationery. And when I got there, it was a matter of seeing there were five others (before Bryant) and we should put them all together. It was as simple as that.”

    Atcheson said that in the 1983 media guide, he added the five pre-Bryant national titles now listed — 1925, 1926, 1930, 1934 and 1941. Taylor Watson, curator at the Bryant Museum in Tuscaloosa, said it was actually the 1986 media guide.

    This much is certain: The 1982 media guide, the last for Bryant, lists 1934 as the only pre-Bryant national championship, adding it in a footnote of Alabama’s SEC history. In the year-by-year results in the ’82 media guide, only Bryant’s six national titles were listed.

    Atcheson and Watson said it’s important to put Alabama’s claim of 12 in context because other schools have added debated championships, too.

    “I tried to make Alabama football look the best it could look and just make it as great as it could possibly be,” Atcheson said. “I was a competitor myself with the other schools, and what they bragged about and boasted about, I wanted people to know the best about my school.”

    Asked why 12 is the right number, Watson replied: “I don’t know that it is the right number. But that’s the great thing about college football. I hope we never have a playoff. I’ll be going to my grave arguing that we should have won a national championship in 1966.”

    http://blog.al.com/solomon/2010/01/got_12.html

  3. Viles and Barners, we will award ourselves another crystal “thesaurus” or “dictionary” or “dunkle” national championship trophy. we have commissioned danny moore to begin capturing this historic moment in another “paint by the numbers” football cartoon we crimson pride members call “an investment in art”.

  4. We got 13!! We got 13!! We got 13!! We got 13!! We got 13!! We got 13!!

  5. you probably think you are better than vanderbilt and army…you know they have more nc’s than you barners. so by that fact alone they are better than the barn too!! ha ha!!

    ha! your so pathetic! roooll tide baby, like the bear always said…”lets win one for the gipper”

  6. I love when Bama and Kentucky fans tell us about their pre-integration National Championships. How proud you must be. The best of the best.

  7. Typically predictable Bammeroid responses.

  8. Hey Jai, how bout the game this Saturday? How’s UT gonna fair? I expect nothing but another deflection just like the 83 Bama Media Guide Pic! Roll Tide!

  9. Bitter hard fought game to the 4th quarter. Bama will be allowed to pull away

  10. Bama will be allowed to pull away…

    Too bad most Bammeroid dads never learned to pull out…

Leave a Reply

