4 Comments

Tennessee vs Florida preview


Tyler Bray has a chance this week to turn himself into a UT legend. He has had the stats but a lot of fans are knocking his competition. I know we haven’t faced the likes of UAB or Florida Atlantic, but if he steps up and puts Florida down in the swamp he will win everyone else over.

My gut is telling me the Vols fire their 1st shot on their way back into NCAA football prominence this coming weekend with a win at Florida. I won’t pretend to know the score, but my gut is saying the offense is versatile enough and defense just strong enough to pull out a victory and start the turnaround for Tennessee football. I’m looking forward to the future for this football team, I think they have that chemistry or it that gives a team an extra edge or special that can’t be always explained with Xs and Os. I’m not predicting a NC, but I think the start begins on Saturday in Gainesville.

After watching and analyzing both their games, …“I was like five minutes into the first half of the UAB game, when I thought to myself, ‘Hey, that coach looks exactly like the one was at Notre Dame. Oh crap, I think it is! I remember the horror overcoming me when I realized it was the same fat guy that I had seen bent over the bacon tray in that Golden Corral in South Bend. I instantly pulled my pants back up and vomited.”

This is not the same Florida team we are used to cowering in fear of. They are just NOT that team right now. They are still good, but not as good top to bottom as they were last year.

I really hate to elevate Muschamp’s mercurial personality and lack of intellect on this blog. Frankly, Boom Motherfucker is not even in the same zip code with Dooley on IQ. THIS will be the deciding factor. Muschamp’s inability to control his emotions and all of us know that you just can’t fix stupid. I guess that Muschamp is the functional equal of a monkey.

Their secondary is going to give up some big plays, nothing but “lil people” back there against our giants. They are young and just not very impressive. Hunter and Da’Rick will exploit them. Their d-line hasn’t looked like what we are used to seeing. Having Floyd back will help. I thinks Floyd cramps out by mid 3rd quarter. The question is “how much?”
image

Demps’ and Rainey’s talent in the open field is unquestioned. Other than that, there are a lot of questions. They have no inside running game. Brantley’s toughness, accuracy and decision making is inconsistent. Unlike Cincy who had a few weapons to go along with Pead, everything UF does revolves around Demps and Rainey in space. Keep the east-west running game in check and take the flats/screens away from Brantley and their offense will look very pedestrian. If we gang tackle like we did from the 2nd quarter on vs Pead, we will be fine. He is as good as UF’s speedsters IMO.

We are going to win this game, provided we don’t take a step back from Saturday. Our coaching, play-calling, and adjustments are much more better than theirs. Bray may not throw for 400 yards, but he is a special player and you just don’t shut down players like him when you have as many weapons as we do.

31-24 VOLS

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Capers Bar

I am retired Army officer. I used to fly helicopters and airplanes while I was in the Army. Nowadays, I do other things that are not so cool and sexy. I decided to write about my journey or whatever you want to call it towards running a half-marathon this fall. I have been running since 1983, I have run the Duke City full and half marathons. I don't run that fast anymore, I did win a 10K when I was 21, those days are mercifully past me. The fastest mile I have turned is a 5:05 during one of those Army physical fitness test 2 mile runs. The point I am making is that I am old, slow, and experienced runner. I named the blog after my running buddy, Bandit, an Australian Blue Heeler. He is my 3rd K-9 running buddy, the previous two dogs were black labs. I hope to write about some of my discussions that I have with Bandit in the future. I once owned, but since sold and a satirical and irreverent sports blog that was moderately successful. I was published in the left-wing national sports media by Sports Illustrated and ESPN. I am "stuck" in Alabama working for a military contractor. I am working so fricking hard to get back to Southeast New Mexico or West Texas. Fingers and toes crossed.

4 comments on “Tennessee vs Florida preview

  1. I’m thinking that feeling in your gut is just indigestion, Jai…

  2. Epic fail boat

  3. See, Jai…I told you that feeling was just indigestion…

  4. Better luck next year.

Leave a Reply

