1 Comment

UGA’s Richt volleys ‘must-win’ questions


Twice Richt was asked during his weekly press conference Tuesday if he felt Saturday’s game was critically important to him as the Bulldogs’ head coach.

Phrased a different way by two different reporters three minutes apart, Richt gave the same terse answer.

In the first case, Richt was asked if he viewed the South Carolina game as “pivotal for you and your program.”

“I view it as a very important game,” he said, without further elaboration.

A short time later, a reporter from a South Carolina newspaper asked if Richt felt like it was “a must-win game.”

“Didn’t I just say it was a really important game?” Richt snapped back.

“But is it a must win?,” the reporter repeated.

“I think it’s a really important game,” Richt said, now glaring. “You want to ask me again? Because you can, and I’ll answer it the same way.”

UGA’s Richt volleys ‘must-win’ questions, players defend their coach | UGA sports blog

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

And so the tone was set for this week’s SEC opener against No. 12 South Carolina (1-0) at Sanford Stadium on Saturday. It appears that the Georgia beat writers have been hood-winked by a shrewd King-Pin that is executing a very hush-hush plan. These writers and fans are nothing more than fools, innocent babes and dullards.

They didn’t you see the deceitful genius of Coach Richt in Saturday’s press interview when he said, “I haven’t failed, I’ve found 10,000 ways that don’t work.” He has a great attitude. He isn’t giving up and neither should Georgia fans.

There is still a silver and black lining to the methane cloud that is enveloping Athens and it’s name is Aaron Murray. Murray is arguably the greatest quarterback in Georgia football history. So much so, Murray is often favorably compared to brilliant Offensive Coordinator/playcaller Coach Mike Bobo. Richt is so confident in Murray’s ability that he chose to lose the Boise State game, rather than give upcoming SEC opponents a sneak peek at Murray’s greatness and Bobo’s innovative offensive schemes.  Knowing that Georgia still must face Florida, Tennessee, Mississippi State and Auburn, Richt made the calculated decision to keep the passing attack hidden and ultimately catch these teams by surprise. Such a surreptitious, cloak-and-dagger, and gutsy move surely will place Richt’s name among those of Mexican General Santa Ana, Matt Millen and Custer; all storied leaders of men. It will make this year’s Georgia squad synonymous with great military units such as Task Force Smith.

Georgia plays host to the University of South Carolina on Saturday. The reward for keeping Georgia’s passing game secret will be apparent by halftime, when Georgia is sure to be up by at least four TDs.  It should be a good game, with Georgia leaving the Cocks beaten and humiliated.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Capers Bar

I am retired Army officer. I used to fly helicopters and airplanes while I was in the Army. Nowadays, I do other things that are not so cool and sexy. I decided to write about my journey or whatever you want to call it towards running a half-marathon this fall. I have been running since 1983, I have run the Duke City full and half marathons. I don't run that fast anymore, I did win a 10K when I was 21, those days are mercifully past me. The fastest mile I have turned is a 5:05 during one of those Army physical fitness test 2 mile runs. The point I am making is that I am old, slow, and experienced runner. I named the blog after my running buddy, Bandit, an Australian Blue Heeler. He is my 3rd K-9 running buddy, the previous two dogs were black labs. I hope to write about some of my discussions that I have with Bandit in the future. I once owned, but since sold and a satirical and irreverent sports blog that was moderately successful. I was published in the left-wing national sports media by Sports Illustrated and ESPN. I am "stuck" in Alabama working for a military contractor. I am working so fricking hard to get back to Southeast New Mexico or West Texas. Fingers and toes crossed.

One comment on “UGA’s Richt volleys ‘must-win’ questions

  1. Genius move by a great missionary of football

Leave a Reply

