Leave a comment

Welcome Aboard the Big Orange Gravy Boat


Photo courtesy of Volsbitch.com


Dooley gets his 3rd 4 star recruit this week. All if them playmakers. Now get out there and get some defensive poured, please? Norcross, Georgia wide receiver Jason Croom has committed to Tennessee. Slyly, Mississippi State thought that they had him…Nope he took a look at Starkville and purportedly said ‘fuck this’. Bama tried to get him but with the Miami Hurricane associations ($ 4 Bammer coaches are linked to the cheating). Sure we don’t pay as good as Bama or provide gaudy-ass suits or cars to our players but we can offer work on the UT Body Farm and a chance to be a CSI.

Rivals (sucks) has him as 4 star. Per ESPN’s evaluation [Jason Croom 2012 Football Recruiting Profile – ESPN]:

Croom is a big, physical wide receiver that is going to end up developing into an H-back/tight end at the next level. He is an imposing prospect out wide with terrific measurable and a thick, sturdy build at this stage. He is physical and athletic and almost looks out of place on the perimeter. He is very green, but gifted as a runner and pass catcher. He is a long strider who builds up speed as he goes. He is a big target and uses his body to shield off defenders in the short passing game and in the red zone. He has good size as a blocker and can be extremely effective when he gives effort. He shows good running ability and has a good feel to find the open areas in zone. Catches the football in a crowd and fights for every inch of turf after the reception. Snares the football out of the air with confidence and immediately turns up field slashing between defenders. When he does get pinned in, he will spin or lower his shoulder to get the most out of the play. Possesses good speed and a burst to pull away from defenders. However, as a wide receiver Croom lacks explosive speed and quickness to be a consistent big play threat. He tends to lumber off the ball a bit and is a very raw route runner. If he was playing on the inside as a slot or TE working the field between the numbers he would be much more in his comfort zone. We really like his athleticism, but he is playing out of position. As a result he has upside to be a much better and different player at the next level than he is here. Good prospect that is still developing. Has excellent measurables that you look for in a tight end.

About Capers Bar

I am retired Army officer. I used to fly helicopters and airplanes while I was in the Army. Nowadays, I do other things that are not so cool and sexy. I decided to write about my journey or whatever you want to call it towards running a half-marathon this fall. I have been running since 1983, I have run the Duke City full and half marathons. I don't run that fast anymore, I did win a 10K when I was 21, those days are mercifully past me. The fastest mile I have turned is a 5:05 during one of those Army physical fitness test 2 mile runs. The point I am making is that I am old, slow, and experienced runner. I named the blog after my running buddy, Bandit, an Australian Blue Heeler. He is my 3rd K-9 running buddy, the previous two dogs were black labs. I hope to write about some of my discussions that I have with Bandit in the future. I once owned, but since sold and a satirical and irreverent sports blog that was moderately successful. I was published in the left-wing national sports media by Sports Illustrated and ESPN. I am "stuck" in Alabama working for a military contractor. I am working so fricking hard to get back to Southeast New Mexico or West Texas. Fingers and toes crossed.

Leave a Reply

