6 Comments

Fulmer is Hungry


I don’t think I will ever understand the hatred. He got fired three years ago. He brought us great success (A BCS NC), then he let it slip through his thick fingers the last few years through complacency.

I dream of a day when the SEC remembers that all others are playing for #2 in the for the conference title; the SEC title is a much more prestigious championship than the BCS anyway. That jealousy of the Tennessee and Coach Fulmer leads to nothing but self loathing and disappointment. Other schools (Bama, UGA and UF), former coaches, rival coaches (Spurrier, Richt and Saban), disillusioned blue chip prospects (Eric Locke) and pre-season stroke magazines (lindys and Athlon) became awed by the tradition and football prowess that Fulmer and Tennessee possessed. This awe soured into jealousy, which in turn led to fear. As Tennessee became stronger, the fear that other schools would be forgotten or overlooked grew. Many of these same individuals and entities now pose as Tennessee fans to denounce Coach Fulmer’s candidacy to UT Athletic Director. The Big Orange Nation must remember that despite sham rankings and the subversive acts of Tennessee traitors, there is no football team which surpasses the Vols and certainly no coach that is superior to Coach Fulmer. A strong Tennessee is good for the SEC. Former Vols push Phillip Fulmer for UT athletics chief | timesfreepress.com

Try naming a more successful UT football coach not named Neyland. The man is a “VFL” more than almost anybody else. He deserves respect for what he accomplished, and he got relieved of his duties for his failures. Nobody is a perfect human being. And Mike Hamilton was certainly not perfect at his job either. Plus, he had far fewer successes. Regardless, can’t we just drop the Fulmer hate? It’s been three years! Let it go!

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Capers Bar

I am retired Army officer. I used to fly helicopters and airplanes while I was in the Army. Nowadays, I do other things that are not so cool and sexy. I decided to write about my journey or whatever you want to call it towards running a half-marathon this fall. I have been running since 1983, I have run the Duke City full and half marathons. I don't run that fast anymore, I did win a 10K when I was 21, those days are mercifully past me. The fastest mile I have turned is a 5:05 during one of those Army physical fitness test 2 mile runs. The point I am making is that I am old, slow, and experienced runner. I named the blog after my running buddy, Bandit, an Australian Blue Heeler. He is my 3rd K-9 running buddy, the previous two dogs were black labs. I hope to write about some of my discussions that I have with Bandit in the future. I once owned, but since sold and a satirical and irreverent sports blog that was moderately successful. I was published in the left-wing national sports media by Sports Illustrated and ESPN. I am "stuck" in Alabama working for a military contractor. I am working so fricking hard to get back to Southeast New Mexico or West Texas. Fingers and toes crossed.

6 comments on “Fulmer is Hungry

  1. […] Phil Fulmer is hungry [LosersWithSocks] […]

  2. Thank you for bringing Baghead Johnny out of retiremnt…it always brings a smile to my face…

  3. I had to dig deep in the archive for that picture. really deep

  4. I think Majors would be the best candidate.

  5. […] Fulmer is Hungry (loserswithsocks.com) […]

Leave a Reply

