7 Comments

Florida Game Preview


Florida is definitely a winnable game. I know most will say “duh” but many have acquired a defeatist attitude towards them.

Florida will have not have a serviceable SEC QB when we play them. John Brantley is hot, steamy, month old turd but the pups won’t be near ready and so we will get Brantley and it could get worse than just his lack of ability/intangibles. As he doesn’t do well (fails at being Tebow) early in the game the crowd reaction will cripple him.

Brantley was only 4 for 14 for a whopping 45 yards in their spring game. The O line really struggled to protect him or give him time against their D line. His leadership, footwork, ability to read defenses quickly, his pocket awareness, leadership ability, touch on his intermediate and short passes, as well as his accuracy down the field are all poor.

With Dunkley out, suspended for the spring he will not be ready before mid-season to make plays. They were counting on him. Their WRs will be very coverable for us. They have three potential starters at OT: 6’6 255lb Nixon, perma-injured Matt Patchan who has barely practiced in 2 years, and redshirt frosh Chaz Green.

We will spy their RBs both Demps and Rainey….and match up man to man on the outside IMO.

We will hold their offense under 20 points with a good game plan.

In the IQ game between coaches, I like our chances with Dooley over the dullard Coach Boom.

We just flat.. out execute, out condition, out muscle, out coach, those bitches. The message is heard clear around the conference.

About Capers Bar

I am retired Army officer. I used to fly helicopters and airplanes while I was in the Army. Nowadays, I do other things that are not so cool and sexy. I decided to write about my journey or whatever you want to call it towards running a half-marathon this fall. I have been running since 1983, I have run the Duke City full and half marathons. I don't run that fast anymore, I did win a 10K when I was 21, those days are mercifully past me. The fastest mile I have turned is a 5:05 during one of those Army physical fitness test 2 mile runs. The point I am making is that I am old, slow, and experienced runner. I named the blog after my running buddy, Bandit, an Australian Blue Heeler. He is my 3rd K-9 running buddy, the previous two dogs were black labs. I hope to write about some of my discussions that I have with Bandit in the future. I once owned, but since sold and a satirical and irreverent sports blog that was moderately successful. I was published in the left-wing national sports media by Sports Illustrated and ESPN. I am "stuck" in Alabama working for a military contractor. I am working so fricking hard to get back to Southeast New Mexico or West Texas. Fingers and toes crossed.

7 comments on “Florida Game Preview

  1. Damn Jai, have you been smoking meth with ‘Eer lately?

    You’ve done a little homework on our offense, but not enough to know the real picture. I’m not wholly confident that Brantley will be the second coming of Tom Brady, but he’ll be strong enough to get the job done. Whataburger Weis knows enough about the dink and dunk game and the Gators have too many weapons (Reed, Burton, Dunbar, Hines, Gillislee, Hammond, Rainey & Demps) to not beat the Vols.

    Where you’ve really missed in your analysis is on the defensive side of the ball. The gator defense should be more than sound up front and in the secondary and the ‘backers aren’t bad, just not real deep.

    My guess is that between the defensive pressure and the heat, your MDV boys don’t score more than 13 points all day and Precious’s hair is gonna look less than perfect.

  2. Vawls 38 Gates 16

  3. Coaching will be the delta. Dooley will dominate. Vols 31 UF 13

  4. Six in a row bitch. Soon to be seven in a row.

  5. Isn’t this a cut and paste of Vols hopes after last two coaching changes???

    Meet the new boss…..same as the old boss.

  6. Jai, just because UT looked good playing the likes of UK and Vandy late last year does not mean they will be any good this year.

    Do you remember the Fulmer years of the 90s? I do. I remember that every year, Florida would make UT its bitch in September. And every year, UT would go “undefeated in the month of November, therefore they are playing the bast football in the Nation right now, even better than the Gators.”

    Well guess what, bitch? UT was playing the likes of Vandy and UK every November. It is not hard going undefeated against cupcakes.

    It is time for seven in a row.

Leave a Reply

