3 Comments

Great Hire! I’m Proud to be a VOL Today!


Vols hire Cuonzo Martin as 18th head coach

We just a hired a self made tough as nails winner who we can all be proud to get behind.  The Missouri Valley Conference breathes easy tonight.

We won’t truly know what we have til we hit the court, but the background and pedigree is encouraging.  Individuals who take defense seriously on the court as players usually take it damn serious as coaches.

JMHO but most people on here have no clue how poor we’d become defensively last year.  Let’s hope he gets the program healthy on that side of the ball again.

If Tobias hangs around, the transition will be much smoother.  Let’s hope he sticks around.

Welcome aboard Cuonzo!

I don’t understand why people doubt these hires. what good does it do? The best thing we as fans can do is to support him. furthermore it makes the whole fanbase look bad when we are questioning it. who was excited about Dooley? Hardly anyone..Now almost all like if not love the guy. just because you have never heard of the guy doesn’t mean a thing. with all that is going on its not like we had people beating down our doors. give the guy a chance to prove himself one way or the other.

Go Vols

About Capers Bar

I am retired Army officer. I used to fly helicopters and airplanes while I was in the Army. Nowadays, I do other things that are not so cool and sexy. I decided to write about my journey or whatever you want to call it towards running a half-marathon this fall. I have been running since 1983, I have run the Duke City full and half marathons. I don't run that fast anymore, I did win a 10K when I was 21, those days are mercifully past me. The fastest mile I have turned is a 5:05 during one of those Army physical fitness test 2 mile runs. The point I am making is that I am old, slow, and experienced runner. I named the blog after my running buddy, Bandit, an Australian Blue Heeler. He is my 3rd K-9 running buddy, the previous two dogs were black labs. I hope to write about some of my discussions that I have with Bandit in the future. I once owned, but since sold and a satirical and irreverent sports blog that was moderately successful. I was published in the left-wing national sports media by Sports Illustrated and ESPN. I am "stuck" in Alabama working for a military contractor. I am working so fricking hard to get back to Southeast New Mexico or West Texas. Fingers and toes crossed.

3 comments on “Great Hire! I’m Proud to be a VOL Today!

  1. The main reason to doubt this hire is that Hamilton did it. If someone set out with the intention of making UT sports the laughing-stock of college sports, he cant out perform Hamilton. Why this guy still has his job is not to be understood. Top ten why I detest MH. 1- the Kiffen Keelhaul 2. the fulmer Fiasco . 3. The Pearl Perfidity .4. I miss LK wife 5. he cant write a decent contract. 6. He talks to God about what to do ( same as G Bush regarding the Iraq War) 7. He refuses to admit any mistakes ( also like Bush) 8. he has severe hurt the public image of UT 9. He cant outsmart the local media( Knox) 10. he threw Pearl under the bus and destroyed any chance we would beat MIchigan. HE MUST GO- SOON.

  2. Reality check- Dooley may be a great person and a credit to coaching ( unilke Lane K), but the facts are- his teams have never beaten a team with a winning record. He may be the answer, I hope and pray he is, but, he was what?4th on the wish list and the main reason we hired him is that the others would rather be at Duke and Air Force. That speaks volumes about the state of UT Football. We wont know if Dooley was a good hire or a bad one for another couple years. As much as I hate to say it- the reason ( Mr Bray) we have hope is because LK broght him here, not Dooley. If a famous name is all it takes- Shula would have done better at Bama.

  3. UT fans are happy with Dooley?

Leave a Reply

