2 Comments

Does Tennessee Senator Mike Faulk dislike the National Guard??


U.S. Army Soldiers of the 130th Military Polic...

Image via Wikipedia

A bill has been filed in the State Legislature in Nashville which would take away free National Guard License plates for enlisted members of the Tennessee National Guard. Senate Bill 37 is scheduled to be heard by the Senate Transportation Committee on Wednesday, 2 March at 1230 hours CST. I strongly encourage all enlisted Soldiers/Airmen to contact your State Senator prior to this time and state your opposition to this Bill; below is the contact information for the members of this committee. Right now, these are the people to focus on. If you do not live in one of the Counties listed with a corresponding committee member, you should contact the Bill Sponsor, Senator Mike Faulk, listed at the bottom of the list and let him know of your opposition to this Bill. If your Senator is on this committee I urge you to contact your Senator and Senator Mike Faulk. You can either email or call your Senator. A suggested script is also attached. It is going to be much easier to kill this Bill in one committee with 9 members than to let it get out and have to address it with 132 members. It is important that you participate in this effort. If we lose this benefit we will likely never get it back. Please share this with all your enlisted members. Let’s team up and kill this bill!

IF YOU LIVE IN THIS COUNTY CALL OR EMAIL THIS SENATOR 800-449-8366 EMAIL

RUTHERFORD OR BEDFORD JIM TRACY EXT 11066 sen.jim.tracy@capitol.tn.gov
HAMBLEN, GREENE, OR COCKE STEVE SOUTHERLAND EXT 13851 sen.steve.southerland@capitol.tn.gov
FENTRESS, SCOTT, CAMPBELL, MORGAN, ROANE OR RHEA KEN YAGER EXT 11449 sen.ken.yager@capitol.tn.gov
MONTGOMERY, CHEATHAM OR HOUSTON TIM BARNES EXT 12374 sen.tim.barnes@capitol.tn.gov
MACON, CLAY, TROUSDALE, WILSON, SMITH, DEKALB OR CANNON MAE BEAVERS EXT 12421 sen.mae.beavers@capitol.tn.gov
MARION OR HAMILTON ANDY BERKE EXT 16682 sen.andy.berke@capitol.tn.gov
CROCKETT, HAYWOOD, FAYETTE, HARDEMAN, CHESTER, MCNAIRY, HARDIN OR WAYNE DOLORES GRESHAM EXT 12368 sen.dolores.gresham@capitol.tn.gov
DAVIDSON DOUG HENRY EXT 13291 sen.douglas.henry@capitol.tn.gov
RUTHERFORD, MAURY, MARSHALL OR LINCOLN BILL KETRON EXT 16853 sen.bill.ketron@capitol.tn.gov

ANYWHERE IN TENNESSEE MIKE FAULK — THIS IS THE BILL SPONSOR EXT 12061 sen.mike.faulk@capitol.tn.gov

SUGGESTED SCRIPT FOR CALLS/EMAILS TO SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE MEMBERS:

Hi, my name is and I am an enlisted member (or a pissed off citizen) of

the Tennessee National Guard. I live in County and I’m

contacting you about Senate Bill 37, which would take away free

National Guard license plates for enlisted members. This bill is

on the calendar for the March 2nd meeting of the Senate

Transportation Committee. I am very opposed to this bill, which will be

taking away an important benefit from almost 13,000 Tennesseans. I

am asking you to vote against it.

(Thank whomever you speak with and ask them to pass your message along to their member; they may want to take your name and phone number, possibly your address as well.)

NOTE: If you opt to email instead of call, be sure to include your complete home address so they will know you live in their district; feel free to use the above script in the body of your email.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Capers Bar

I am retired Army officer. I used to fly helicopters and airplanes while I was in the Army. Nowadays, I do other things that are not so cool and sexy. I decided to write about my journey or whatever you want to call it towards running a half-marathon this fall. I have been running since 1983, I have run the Duke City full and half marathons. I don't run that fast anymore, I did win a 10K when I was 21, those days are mercifully past me. The fastest mile I have turned is a 5:05 during one of those Army physical fitness test 2 mile runs. The point I am making is that I am old, slow, and experienced runner. I named the blog after my running buddy, Bandit, an Australian Blue Heeler. He is my 3rd K-9 running buddy, the previous two dogs were black labs. I hope to write about some of my discussions that I have with Bandit in the future. I once owned, but since sold and a satirical and irreverent sports blog that was moderately successful. I was published in the left-wing national sports media by Sports Illustrated and ESPN. I am "stuck" in Alabama working for a military contractor. I am working so fricking hard to get back to Southeast New Mexico or West Texas. Fingers and toes crossed.

2 comments on “Does Tennessee Senator Mike Faulk dislike the National Guard??

  1. I’m afraid someone has told you only half the story and therefore just half the truth. Please read Senate Bill 38 as well as Senate Bill 37. You see Senate Bills 37 & 38 work in tandem.

    Senate Bill 38 extends the benefit of free license plates for National Guard members to active duty personnel as well. A constituent of mine is a Guard member. He was standing in line behind an active duty soldier who was buying license plates. My Guardsman was upset and embarrassed that he could qualify for the free plate while an active duty soldier could not.

    I learned that the provision regarding free National Guard plates was really in the wrong section of the Tennessee Code. So Senate Bill 38 puts the free National Guard plate provision in the correct section of the Code and extends that benefit to active personnel as well.

    Senate Bill 37 would be presented to the full General Assembly if, and only if, Senate Bill 38 passes and is funded in the state budget. Otherwise, Senate Bill 37 will never be presented to the full Senate and would not be needed.

    It’s a shame you were upset because someone gave you only half the story. I hope this clears up the misleading and incomplete information you’ve been given. It troubles me that no one bothered to discuss these two bills with me before putting out half-truths. Certainly, you wouldn’t have been upset had they bothered to discuss the matter with me. I will continue to do all in my power to support and honor our military and their families.

  2. Email and blogging does work. Thanks tn naugus

Leave a Reply

