9 Comments

Lou’ Locks: The Corndog Edition



A tough bowl season for the Locks (4-6) and you may want to “fade” me in this game. I do have a pretty good feeling on this one. I went back and forth for the past few days trying to figure this one out. It seems like all the so called experts are taking O$U, so I’ll go the other way.

LSU -3.5 v. O$U : This game opened up at LSU -6 and has come down all the way to -3.5 (buy the half point to -3) meaning the money is coming in on THE Ohio State University (I always hated that saying for some reason). Everyone is buying into the “revenge” game factor and how prepared the Buckeyes will be for this game. In fact, HC Jim “McSweater-vest” Tressel put together a 10 minute DVD of all the negative comments made about the Buckeyes over last year’s throttling at the hands of the Gators. That is fine and dandy for the first 5 minutes of a game, but after that your running, hitting and blocking some fast and big boys on the other team. So you better have more than emotion on your side. Both of these teams defenses are very, very salty. LB J. Lauranaitis and DE V. Gholston anchor a Buckeye D that is ranked in the Top 10 in almost every major defensive category. The question is have they been tested this year, as O$U has not faced a team ranked in the top 20 at the time the Buckeyes played them. O$U’s SOS is also a little shaky (played Kent St, Youngstown St and Akron to win the Ohio Governor’s Cup). Likewise, LSU’s D is big and fast with a healthy DT G. Dorsey leading the way. Also, watch LB A. Highsmith and DBs C. Jackson and J. Zenon. LSU’s secondary is so good that they can play man and send LBs on blitzes when they want to. The real difference in this game, IMO, lies on the offensive side of the ball. O$U relies on the power running of RB C. Wells and the steady play of QB T. Boeckman ….. they are steady but not spectacular. I am not sure I want a NC riding on Boeckman. On the other side, LSU has power and speed. RB J. Hester is a bruiser, WRs E. Doucet, D. Byrd and T. Tolliver are all weapons. QBs M. Flynn and R. Perriloux give the Tigers some flexibility as well. Also watch for a big play on ST from T. Holliday who is the fastest player in CFB. The thing that really worries me is the coaching match-up as Tressel seems like the safer bet than Miles, but Miles is 34-6 at LSU in past 3 years for a reason ……. players. LSU has the better overall talent, they are healthy and they are basically playing a home game in the NOLA Dome (that place gets loud, believe me). I see a low scoring, hard fought game with LSU making a couple of big plays in the second half to pull away. LSU 24 O$U 14

About Capers Bar

I am retired Army officer. I used to fly helicopters and airplanes while I was in the Army. Nowadays, I do other things that are not so cool and sexy. I decided to write about my journey or whatever you want to call it towards running a half-marathon this fall. I have been running since 1983, I have run the Duke City full and half marathons. I don't run that fast anymore, I did win a 10K when I was 21, those days are mercifully past me. The fastest mile I have turned is a 5:05 during one of those Army physical fitness test 2 mile runs. The point I am making is that I am old, slow, and experienced runner. I named the blog after my running buddy, Bandit, an Australian Blue Heeler. He is my 3rd K-9 running buddy, the previous two dogs were black labs. I hope to write about some of my discussions that I have with Bandit in the future. I once owned, but since sold and a satirical and irreverent sports blog that was moderately successful. I was published in the left-wing national sports media by Sports Illustrated and ESPN. I am "stuck" in Alabama working for a military contractor. I am working so fricking hard to get back to Southeast New Mexico or West Texas. Fingers and toes crossed.

9 comments on “Lou’ Locks: The Corndog Edition

  1. Miles is 33-6 in 3 years (lets hope it is 34-6) after tonight. Locks isn’t one of the ones who says Miles is winning with Saban’s players, huh?

  2. LSU Guy, my bad on the typo. In any event it is pretty damn strong in my book. I have never bought into that BS perpetrated by the Bammers. He is winning games, period. I think he will have then ready tonight. If Flynn can avoid the early TOs, I like it. Do not see how O$U scores much in this game.

  3. i think so too. look back to the VT game, though tOSU is prolly better than beamer ball. Flynn has got to have his head in the game and not get cute a la the bammer game when he almost single handedly let bammer back in the game (from 17-3 to 24-17). i would like to see more series with Perrilloux too–not just a play here and there. i think RP earned it after the SECCG game.

  4. If tfailboats won the Ohio Governor’s Cup for beating three in state cupcakes what did LSU win for beating Tulane, Middle Tenn and Louisiana Tech?

    The Moonshine Cup?

    LSU 38 – tfailboats 17

  5. #3, I agree I think RP needs to play early (2 series in first half). O$U had difficulty with Juice Williams of Ill. RP is the next VY, if he can keep his head on straight. He already is a better passer than VY. Boeckman gets crunched tonight. RJ Francois is the x-factor.

  6. #5, not only the Gov’s Cup but also a watered down Big 10. I like the Moonshine Cup, although I would probably call it the Nutria Cup instead …… yeah you right. Geaux Tigers!

  7. @5–the Corndog Cup.

    @6–you called it, man. Ricky Jean was the Defensive MVP. I loved watching the expression on Trssel’s face last night.

  8. Thanks, LSU Guy. main thing is we cashed a ticket and the Man will pay.

Leave a Reply

