3 Comments

I am Alabama


From an email….

First off, you guys are playing The University of Alabama, the Capstone
University of the State of Alabama. We are not some 2nd rate team from
some backwards conference. Alabama is among the elite. The best. A
tradition that goes back a long way. We have so many National
Championships, so many bowl wins, SEC Championships, high national
rankings, etc….and quite honestly Colorado, you don”t have squat.
Our list of accolades goes on and on and we just are not interested in
“Virgin” Programs like Colorado. Understand that with that kind of
resume comes respect. We expect the kind of respect that can only be
earned. Alabama fans carry that respect whether we are at home or on the
road and a few things need to be understood. When Alabama “Rolls” into a
town (like Shreveport) you are seeing one of the movers and shakers in
all of college football and the fans are no exception.

First, there will NOT be any yelling in my ear during the game. I darn
well don’t plan on driving all that distance to your stadium to have
some guy from a lesser school yell in my ear. I will ask you one time to
stop and no more. I don’t mind clapping but this incessant yelling is
out. If you continue then I will take a physical solution that you will
not like. I will NEVER provoke but if you guys think that yelling in my
ear is gonna be tolerated you are in for a big surprise. Same thing for
the kids. Sure, they can be there but keep them out of my area and keep
them quiet. If you cannot control the kids then you will be held
responsible and I will take matters into my own hand. We don’t put up
with that crap in Tuscaloosa and we darn well aren’t gonna drive all
that distance to your place and put up with it.

If I have to go to the restroom I don’t wait in line, I go to the front.
This is an area where I have encountered some problems before so I am
just making it clear now. A Coaches Gone Wild! fan has earned the right
to not wait in some bathroom line and we choose to not do it. If you
have a problem with this you had better go to a “home” restroom or to
one where the Alabama fans are not in. If you do decide to make an issue
out of it then be prepared to face a physical solution. Ditto for
concessions. We go to the front of the line. Not out of spite or to try
to show you up. It is all about showing respect for the greatest teams
of yore folks, the Crimson Tide. RTR

Again, if you have a problem with this I advise you to keep away from me
or the Alabama contingent. I am very upfront and honest when I tell you
that it ain’t nothing for me to up and kick a man’s ass. Done it several
times and I’ll do it again if pushed. NEVER will I provoke, though. It
is YOU that determines my actions and ultimately your fate. If you
understand where I and the Alabama folks are coming from and what is
expected then we will have a great time and no problems will ever arise.

About Capers Bar

I am retired Army officer. I used to fly helicopters and airplanes while I was in the Army. Nowadays, I do other things that are not so cool and sexy. I decided to write about my journey or whatever you want to call it towards running a half-marathon this fall. I have been running since 1983, I have run the Duke City full and half marathons. I don't run that fast anymore, I did win a 10K when I was 21, those days are mercifully past me. The fastest mile I have turned is a 5:05 during one of those Army physical fitness test 2 mile runs. The point I am making is that I am old, slow, and experienced runner. I named the blog after my running buddy, Bandit, an Australian Blue Heeler. He is my 3rd K-9 running buddy, the previous two dogs were black labs. I hope to write about some of my discussions that I have with Bandit in the future. I once owned, but since sold and a satirical and irreverent sports blog that was moderately successful. I was published in the left-wing national sports media by Sports Illustrated and ESPN. I am "stuck" in Alabama working for a military contractor. I am working so fricking hard to get back to Southeast New Mexico or West Texas. Fingers and toes crossed.

3 comments on “I am Alabama

  1. FUCK ALABAMA….and FUCK YOU

    I was gonna say i cant wait for someone to beat the shit outta ya’ll and put you in your place….but that already happened didnt it??? I cant believe how bad you’re “elite” team chocked against South Carolina. What a joke.

    GEAUX TIGERS

  2. New Title: Pompous High School Graduate writes first paragraph.

  3. […] from the following: I am Alabama « Loser with Socks and Dawgs Gone Blog.com: “We demand respect. Some rules for Arizona St. fans”. Share […]

Leave a Reply

